Juked 2011   5 comments

Steacie Science and Engineering Library at Yor...

Image via Wikipedia

To read the poem Between Meals, click here

Getting laid off is hard. Getting divorced, is hard. Put them together, you have the hell that was my 2010.

The lay off was made better, or worse, by the fact that the school system offered me another job, that I wasn’t necessarily qualified for, that I hadn’t spent years and money training for. A job that took me out of the library and into numerous classrooms, with nowhere really to safely store my purse, my lunch, no desk or shelf of my own. Coming from three years of pretty much having a giant library to myself, that was hard. I almost didn’t take it, but had to weigh in the economic needs of my family, including health insurance.

So, I took the job, and this poem is born from that experience.

Happily, another library position became available and I was able to leave that other position, with no regrets. It turns out, this is a better place for me than my old library would have been had I stayed, so the lay off was a good thing. God knows what He’s doing.

Today, write about an unhappy or uncomfortable situation. Between Meals is,  I think, one of the best poems I’ve ever written, that comes out of one of the worst situations I’ve ever been in. Use your own worst experiences to create something beautiful of your won.

5 responses to “Juked 2011

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great poem, I really enjoyed it. I’ve been trying to write a few poems myself (so far only write/sold fiction), and I appreciate how hard it can be to craft a good one. Like the food imagery and the way you juxtapose with memories of the old job.

    Mike

    Dispassionate Witness
  2. Feeling for you. Good poem!

  3. Great poem Helen!

Leave a Reply

