Day 4   Leave a comment

N00728 H-1- medullary sponge kidney

Image via Wikipedia

So, I’m studying for the GREs, which I’ll be taking tomorrow night, and I’m finding that while I ace the majority of the verbal section, the whole blank is to blank as blank is to blank part is kicking my butt. It’s kind of ticking me off, because I recall being quite good at these many moons ago on the SATs. Bigger vocabulary now, and this test, from what i heard, TRIES to trick you, trip you up.

So, I used one of the analogies to write a poem tonight. (No, still no progress on the novel. Or the zombie story. Next week, I promise. Maybe.) The one I chose, the title of my poem, is

Excretion: Kidney

No, my kidneys have been causing my heartbreak and pain from a very young age. My ureter needed to be re-implanted at the ripe old age of seven, due to frequent kidney infections. My right kidney reminds me it’s there every single day. So how in the heck did I get this question wrong? By trying to out think the test. I figured the correct answer, Respiration: Lung, couldn’t possibly be right because it was too obvious, being the only option that included another organ of the body. So I chose Information: Media, like a yutz, because kidneys distribute excretions, and the media distributes information. Right? Evidently, no.

So, I threw together a short wee poem to vent my frustration after a long day of studying. Hopefully, if all goes well tomorrow, I’ll have the rest of the month to fiction write with rigor.

Leave a Reply

