The Battered Suitcase, 2009   Leave a comment

Ganesh festival in India

Image via Wikipedia

To read the poems, click here

I have always had a fascination for Indian culture. I love Bollywood films, Indian novels, Hinduism. A lifelong Christian, polytheism has always seemed exotic, mysterious. Of the Hindu gods, Ganesha has always been my favorite, human body with an elephant head, he physically embodied India to me.

So then why would I write the poor guy into a political satire?

I guess the simple answer was, no one had done it yet. It seemed so obvious to me, the elephant god who symbolizes tolerance and learning, sought after by the Republican party for all the wrong reasons.

I don’t usually write satire, but some of my favorite authors have been satirists.  I guess, sometimes, their influence rubs off on me.  For example, the other poem Battered Suitcase published of mine in 2009, “A Caution for Horny Wizards”, is not only a satirical quip on all things Harry Potter, it’s a mini homage to Terry Pratchett, and the witches and wizards of the Discworld.

Today, flex your creative muscles into the world of satire. Pull something into a world that is its complete opposite, turn a critical eye on that world. Have fun with it. I know I did.

 

Leave a Reply

