Niteblade   Leave a comment

http://www.niteblade.com/september-2010/2010/09/dreaming-in-msg/

Niteblade is an online and print journal of sci-fi, horror, and fantasy writing. They recently published my horrific poem Dreaming in MSG, based on a gastronomic nightmare. I often keep a dream journal, jotting down what I remember from the night before, and attempt to work it into my writing. This was a particularly gruesome dream, in which a dish of food transforms itself into a drowned mother rat and her unborn babies. I’m not a dream expert, but I have a feeling the dream was caused more from doubts on my own abilities as a mother, and not really about food at all, but the image was burned into my head for the whole rest of the day, until I took my notes from the morning and fashioned them into this poem.

I don’t think of myself as a genre writer, but it does seem like the things I write that do fit a particular niche, such as this poem, are easier to find a home for. The print version of Niteblade is well worth buying a copy, or subscription, with fantastic hand drawn illustrations. I highly recommend doing your part to support small presses, and ordering a copy today.

Think about your own dreams. Does one in particular stand out in your memory? Do you have a recurring dream that won’t seem to leave you alone? Take some time out of your day today to write it down.

Leave a Reply

